Funny Friday – The Grammar Nerd

April 13, 2012 at 9:56 am 7 comments

Yes, that’s me. I have been known lovingly as a grammar nerd, a grammar cop, and even the grammar nazi by my honey. I get it, it’s difficult to type everything out in texts or even from your phone to Facebook, but when a reputable news source starts making grammatical errors, I start getting “grinchy”. And sure, I’m not perfect, but I appreciate when basic grammatical rules are followed. If you ever find any basic errors on this website, please feel free to correct me!

A short lesson:

it’s = it is
its = possessive form of “it” (referring to something that belongs to “it”)

there = refers to location (There it is!)
they’re = they are
their = possessive form of they (belonging to them)

your = possessive form of you (belonging to you)
you’re = you are

two = the number 2
to = preposition used before a noun or verb as an infinitive (We are going to the store. We are going to leave now.)
too = also (I love you, too.)

who’s = who is
whose = possessive form of who/whom

These are the few that were at the top of my mind today. Which bother you the most?

To relieve some stress from my mind, here are a few graphics from someecards and one from Piccsy.

Does bad grammar bother you? Which grammatical errors bug you the most?

Entry filed under: Funny Friday. Tags: , , , , , , .

Good Friday – What Love Really Means We’ve moved!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. RJ  |  April 13, 2012 at 10:00 am

    “Should have” v. “should of” is one that irks me.

    Reply
    • 2. Bryn  |  April 13, 2012 at 10:24 am

      Yuck! Me too!

      Reply
  • 3. becomingcliche  |  April 13, 2012 at 10:05 am

    I took a picture recently of a billboard where the copy editor had totally dropped the ball. It was painful to read.

    Reply
  • 6. Rosanna Voss  |  April 13, 2012 at 10:31 am

    Love this, Bryn! I, too, am a “grammar nazi” or “mean old mom” when it comes to spelling and grammar! Glad to see it hasn’t been lost with your generation!!

    Reply
    • 7. Bryn  |  April 13, 2012 at 10:35 am

      Thank you for reading! I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


“Like” Simply Fulfilled on Facebook!

Join 800 other followers

Recent Posts

April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Tweet Me!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives


