The Power of Prayer – For Brett Miller

February 22, 2012 at 11:33 pm 18 comments

I recently found out that my childhood best friend’s older brother has a tumor on his brain. He’s only 29 years old, has a beautiful

Brett with his wife Lydia and daughter Malena

wife and baby daughter, and countless people who love him.

Many of you know Brett Miller as a football player from Quincy Notre Dame who is now a coach there and a teacher at Liberty High School. He’s always been in great shape and in perfect health, so I’m sure this came as a complete shock to him and his family.

Here is what his dad had to say via Facebook tonight:

“I normally do not make entries on facebook as I am not one to talk about things going on in my life be it good or bad. However, when the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune hit you with a life altering situation, ones focus on life changes and you find yourself in unfamiliar territory…My second born, Brett, has been diagnosed with a brain tumor. He is 29 yrs. old, married to a most amazing, wonderful, beautiful woman, Lydia, with a most precious 13 month old little girl named Malena. We are currently up in Rochester, MN at Mayo’s. Brett has undergone several painstaking tests, and is currently slated for surgery this Friday, February 25th. We have a pre-op orientation tomorrow, Thursday, at 1pm, followed by a consultation at 3 with the surgeon and his team. We are not sure at this time how much of the tumor will be removed as it has worked its way deep into the part of the brain that controls speech and memory. What cannot be removed safely, will have to be treated with radiation and possibly chemotherapy. This situation has been devasting to not only Brett, Lydia, and Malena, but to my family, the Keck family, and all of Brett’s and Lydia’s friends! Brett has a lot of support and prayer chains going for him, so if I may ask one thing of my friends, I ask for a small prayer for him that this will have a positive outcome. Thank you and God Bless.”

Whether you know Brett or not, if you believe in the power of prayer, please say a prayer for him, his doctors, and his family. Don’t know how to get started? Pray with me.

Everlasting Father, you are worthy of all praise. You created me in your image, and you give me the grace to walk in your way. I praise you, adore you. Especially in difficult times, I’m grateful you are there.

I am truly sorry for all of my sins, for not appreciating the blessings you bestow in my life, and for worrying about the little things.

Thank you so much for all of the blessings you give me. Thank you for the food that nourishes my body, for the friends and family that bring me up emotionally, and for your grace that heals souls.

Lord, please lay your healing hands over Brett. Send your angels to be with him and his doctors as they prepare for surgery. Give Brett physical, emotional, and spiritual fortitude to keep a positive attitude and to trust you even in the darkest times. Give Lydia and the family the strength to help support Brett, the support system to break down if they need to, and your peace, knowing that you love Brett even more than they do. Lord, so many people depend on Brett and love him–please heal him completely, and help him and those around him to see your presence in all situations. In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit. Amen.

If you know Brett and would like to follow his progress or leave a message for him and the family, a CaringBridge website was started for him a few days ago. Click here for more information.

Entry filed under: Faith. Tags: , , , , , , .

Make-A-List Monday: My Lenten Resolutions Keep Praying – All 3,500 of You

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mike Fisk  |  February 22, 2012 at 11:36 pm

    Gracious Heavenly Father, the Great Jehovah Rapha, the God who heals. We thank you for the life of Brett. We lift him up to you along with his family during this difficult time. May you be glorified through his healing. Amen.

    Reply
    • 2. Bryn  |  February 22, 2012 at 11:41 pm

      Thank you.

      Reply
  • 3. Maureen Schuering  |  February 23, 2012 at 11:06 am

    I am so praying for all!

    Maureen Schuering

    Reply
    • 4. Bryn  |  February 23, 2012 at 7:43 pm

      Thank you Maureen!

      Reply
  • 5. Cindy Smith  |  February 23, 2012 at 6:21 pm

    We have always believed in the power of prayer! Will be thinking and praying for Brett and his team of physicians! We know him through friends at Liberty and have heard him at many games! Go Brett, stay tough!

    The Smith Family

    Reply
    • 6. Bryn  |  February 23, 2012 at 7:39 pm

      Thank you so much! I’m so excited that out of this situation, so many people can see God’s presence. He is truly amazing!

      Reply
  • 7. Doc Preston  |  February 23, 2012 at 9:43 pm

    I just heard the news today, and I was devastated. I know you can lick this thing, Brett! I have been praying all day!

    Reply
  • 8. Heather  |  February 23, 2012 at 9:55 pm

    Thinking and praying for everyone involved. Though I do not personally know you or your family I am wishing, praying, and hoping for the best!!!! You have a beautiful family and appear to be pretty strong so please stay that way. Take care and may God bless all of you!!!

    Reply
  • 9. Cynthia Mcinnon  |  February 23, 2012 at 9:58 pm

    Thoughts and prayers for u and all your family stay strong!! God bless!

    Reply
  • 10. Doug and Karen Greenwell  |  February 23, 2012 at 10:22 pm

    God’s grace and healing hands be with you Brett and family during this most trying time. Strength, faith and millions of prayers will be your blessing.

    The Greenwell Family

    Reply
  • 11. Brittany R  |  February 24, 2012 at 2:15 am

    My fiancĂ© went to high school at QND. He informed me today about Brett, and I also know his wife’s sister Kelli. Know I am praying for you and your family. I know someone who went through a similar situation last year. We prayed continously for her and she is healthy! God is amazing! Continue to be a light throughout the clinic as I pray for only a ahort stay. He does great works and I am in awe of his glory daily. I love you guys, Praise God.

    Reply
  • 12. Keep Praying – All 3,500 of You « Simply Fulfilled  |  February 24, 2012 at 7:44 am

    […] get between 50-100 hits on my blog per day, and my daily record was 206 hits in one day. Yesterday, the post requesting prayers for Brett Miller received over 3,500 hits. Thank you for all your […]

    Reply
  • 13. Joe and Cindy B  |  February 24, 2012 at 4:23 pm

    Brett you and your family are in our thoughts and prayers.

    Reply
  • 14. Benjamin  |  February 24, 2012 at 4:47 pm

    Your whole family is in my thoughts and prayers. Keep fighting, and God bless you.

    Reply
  • 15. margehull  |  February 24, 2012 at 9:43 pm

    You are in Gods hands and I am praying for you too!

    Reply
  • 16. margehull  |  February 24, 2012 at 9:44 pm

    Praying for you.

    Reply
  • 17. margehull  |  February 24, 2012 at 9:45 pm

    Praying for you too!

    Reply
  • 18. jenni frericks  |  February 24, 2012 at 9:59 pm

    Do we have updates on his surgery?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 800 other followers

Recent Posts

February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  

Tweet Me!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives


