Mommyrexia – Selfish Pregnant Women Aren’t Cherishing their Gift

July 28, 2011 at 9:22 am 7 comments

Every once in awhile, I catch a little snippet of the Today Show when I have to sit down and nurse in the morning. This morning the hot topic was “Mommyrexia,” which is when celebrities and others try to gain as little weight as possible during pregnancy so they can still look glamorous.

Dr. Nancy Snyderman is the chief medical editor for NBC, and she was disgusted by this, as was I. She called it “vulgar” and “an upper East side white girl obnoxious problem.” (Go Dr. Nancy!)

I miss that beautiful round belly!

These days, some people don’t see pregnancy as the gift that it is. They see it as a distortion of their bodies, as being ugly, and as just getting fat. Perhaps I’m against the norm, but I have always loved being pregnant. I have never felt better and more confident about my body during pregnancy than at any other time in my life – even better than when I was a senior in high school running 8 to 10 miles a day. That beautiful round belly contains the most precious gift, a child. When a mother feels a child moving inside her, the love grows and grows.

Although I can sympathize with the feelings of being fat and wanting to be thin again, the love overshadows everything else when I’m pregnant.

Pregnancy and children are truly a gift from God. I have many friends and acquaintances who have had trouble getting pregnant and have longed for years for a child. This story about “Mommyrexia” would make them all want to puke. These women are given the responsibility to care for a child growing inside them, and they squander that gift by trying to be thin? It truly is sick.

Pregnancy is the best reason ever to “get fat”, to take care of yourself, and to let your body do its job. Pregnant women everywhere: cherish this gift! Far too many women out there wish they were as blessed as you.

Please pray with me for all those men and women who long to be parents.

Prayer to St. Gerard

O good St. Gerard,
powerful intercessor before God
and Wonder-worker of our day,
I call on you and seek your help.
You who on earth did always fulfill God’s design,
help my friends to do the Holy Will of God.
Beseech the Master of Life,
from whom all paternity proceeded,
to make my friends fruitful in offspring,
that they may raise up children to God in this life
and heirs to the Kingdom of His glory
in the world to come. Amen.

Entry filed under: Faith, Kids.

Make-A-List Monday – Parenting Realizations Are You a Singer or a Thudder? Nothing Can Separate Us From the Love of Christ.

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. symbolandsubstance  |  July 28, 2011 at 9:25 am

    I prayed to St. Gerard when I wanted to get pregnant. I think that our society stresses the wrong things – there are phases in a woman’s life and pregnancy and motherhood change your body, yet I feel that nothing has made me feel more powerful. Of course I look in the mirror and frown sometimes, and it’s frustrating that my clothes don’t fit, but through breastfeeding and light exercise pounds have come off. Thanks for a great post!

    Reply
    • 2. Bryn  |  July 28, 2011 at 2:12 pm

      Powerful is definitely the right word! You are right, pregnancy and motherhood are beautiful things and should be celebrated! 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Alexandra  |  July 28, 2011 at 9:46 am

    As someone who has seen very close family members struggle with infertility, I totally understand what you mean. I have never had children or been pregnant, but when I talk about having kids in the future I say, “If I can have kids or If I am blessed with children”, because I know it’s not just a given that you can have kids. It drives me crazy when people just assume that they will get pregnant when they want to, and it will fit perfectly into this little timeline they have for their life. It’s not up to you, it’s up to God if you have kids.

    Again, I haven’t been pregnant so I haven’t dealt with pregnancy weight gain, but it is selfish to not nurture your baby. When you are pregnant you don’t drink or smoke because it can harm the baby. Why would you not eat enough knowing it could have adverse effects on your baby’s health?

    Reply
    • 4. Bryn  |  July 28, 2011 at 2:14 pm

      That’s what we always tell people when they ask how many kids we are going to have – “However many God gives us.” Because that’s the only truthful answer.

      And I agree, I would do anything for my kids, even when they were in the womb. Not eating enough or working out excessively is just as harmful as other bad behaviors. Thanks for your thoughts!

      Reply
  • 5. My 7 Links « Simply Fulfilled  |  August 4, 2011 at 10:10 am

    […] Mommyrexia – Selfish Pregnant Women Aren’t Cherishing their Gift […]

    Reply
  • 6. Samantha  |  October 29, 2011 at 11:24 pm

    Reading this definitely disgusts me. I have been trying to fall pregnant for years and because of my PCOS, its not as easy as most for it to happen naturally. I recently saw something like mommyrexia on tv and felt so sad. I agree that having a baby is the greatest gift of all and being pregnant is something to celebrate. Why are women being so selfish? They have to remember they have a beautiful human growing inside them and that it’s their resposibility to nurture their growing child. What has gotten to me the most is watching people close to me say that falling pregnant was the biggest mistake of their life and others are even abusing drugs and alcohol still after falling pregnant. Stop being so selfish and self centred. You have another wonderful life to live for now and you are inflicting damage on a small helpless innocent infant. It tears me up so much to see these women take advantage of something that I and other women who have trouble with fertility, can only hope and pray that we are one day blessed with.. A gorgeous baby of our own.

    Reply
  • 7. 2011 Year in Review: Top Posts « Simply Fulfilled  |  December 31, 2011 at 10:16 am

    […] Mommyrexia – Selfish Pregnant Women Aren’t Cherishing their Gift I was appalled when I heard of women not eating properly during pregnancy in order to maintain or lose weight, all while endangering their unborn babies. This post reflects on the gift of children bestowed on parents from God. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 800 other followers

Recent Posts

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Tweet Me!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives


