Make-A-List Monday – Parenting Realizations

July 25, 2011 at 10:57 pm 8 comments

I’m starting a new series today called Make-A-List Monday. On Mondays, I usually try to make to-do lists of things to get done throughout the week, but these will just be random lists of things that come into my head.

A play-doh flower made for me by my three-year-old last Valentine's Day

Today I made a list of realizations I’ve had since becoming a mother.

  1. I have a real fear of swimming pools, the strings used to pull up mini-blinds, and bumpers on cribs.
  2. When I order food at a restaurant, I always think about what I can eat one-handed.
  3. My threshold to handle anything gross has gone up 100%
  4. My capacity to love has gone up 300% (for my three manaics!)
  5. I (lovingly) call my children maniacs because they have so much energy and are easily amused. We are constantly laughing.
  6. The sweetest things in life are open mouth baby kisses, handfuls of dandelions, and home made art projects, made by loving little hands.
  7. Toys that make noises are an effective way to torture parents.
  8. Name brand clothes really do hold up longer.
  9. I’m so grateful for shopping carts shaped like race cars.
  10. I love my mini-van.
  11. I would much rather shop at Carter’s or Gymboree than Hollister or Express.
  12. I am a more confident person in all aspects of life, and I’m getting better at decision-making. I have to. I’m the mommy.
  13. God is in control, and “my” kids are just borrowed from Him. He loves them even more than I do. How amazing is that?
This list could go on and on. What have you realized about yourself since you became a parent?
Entry filed under: Make-A-List Monday. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Funny Friday – Redo with Ricky and Elmo Mommyrexia – Selfish Pregnant Women Aren’t Cherishing their Gift

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erica peters  |  July 25, 2011 at 11:09 pm

    Love your posts!! And I have realized that a night at home for bed and bath time is so much better than a night out on the town sometimes:)

    Reply
    • 2. Bryn  |  July 26, 2011 at 8:34 am

      Agreed! I love clean snuggly babies!

      Reply
  • 3. jo@ourbeautifulmess  |  July 26, 2011 at 12:08 am

    i TOTALLY consider the one-handed thing at dinner too πŸ˜‰

    Reply
    • 4. Bryn  |  July 26, 2011 at 8:34 am

      πŸ™‚

      Reply
  • 5. symbolandsubstance  |  July 26, 2011 at 8:00 am

    Too many things to count! I love the last one. One of my colleagues always says, “They’re God’s Children, we’re just taking care of then for awhile.” I agree with you that kids clothes shopping is so much more fun than buying clothes for yourself. Partly it’s because they’re cheaper, partly because they are so cute, and partly because our bodies just aren’t the same after kids. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • 6. Bryn  |  July 26, 2011 at 8:35 am

      I so agree! Just wait till you have a girl, then it’s really time to go nuts!

      Reply
      • 7. symbolandsubstance  |  July 26, 2011 at 9:45 am

        Keep your fingers crossed for me… I’d love a little girl too! Wow, then it’d be like I won the lottery. πŸ˜‰

  • 8. Ashleigh  |  July 26, 2011 at 5:29 pm

    So much in 7 weeks. The most prominent right now- if you don’t do it now it will stress you later. So get it done when it’s easiest…and how to base my eating schedule on what side I’m nursing on. I make lists while nursing on the left (I can write with the right hand) and I can eat one handed with my left hand while nursing on the right πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 800 other followers

Recent Posts

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Tweet Me!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives


