My “Honey”

July 21, 2011 at 7:49 am 4 comments

If you’ve read this blog before, you have seen that I sometimes refer to my husband as “my honey”. When we first started dating, he thought it would be nice if we had that special nickname for each other. I remember that it sounded so weird and awkward when we first started using it, but now I call him that more than I use his real name.

I'm not your honey.

My honey used to work at Sears. He has a full time job, yes, but he was working at Sears as a second job while we get out of debt (which is a different post for another day). He just recently told me of a discussion he and his fellow salesmen had one night about using the words “honey” and just “hun” with customers.

And of course, he asked my opinion. My thoughts? If a salesperson called me “hun”, I would never buy anything from him/her. I’d leave the store immediately, and every time I drove by, I’d refer to it as “that store where the salesman called me ‘hun'”.

I’m not sure why I find it totally offensive when strangers call me that, but I can still remember specific times when it has happened.

  • A saleswoman at a bookstore in Springfield when I was 8 or 9
  • The manager at our local Fazoli’s
  • Several bank customers when I worked the drive-up window

All I can remember thinking is, I’m not your honey. 

Back to the Sears discussion – some of the salespeople thought that it would be talking down to the customer. Others argued that it’s a term of endearment.

I agree with both. It does feel like a stranger thinks they are above me when they call me “hun” or “honey”. It is also a term of endearment, but only when someone I know and love uses it. In the same way, I only use the term with my husband and occasionally with my kids. Because they are my honeys.

So salespeople everywhere, please refrain from calling customers “hun”. They could be totally offended.

Entry filed under: My Lover Boy.

Funny Friday – Saturday Edition Funny Friday – Nacho

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Michelle  |  July 21, 2011 at 8:20 am

    The lady at Fazoli’s always calls people “Babe” too…. so weird and awkward! I totally agree with you, it’s something I call my husband or my kids but I don’t know you, I mean I’m glad you want to be friendly but there are other ways of doing so! Love reading your blog Bryn, keep up the great stories 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Bryn  |  July 21, 2011 at 9:43 am

      She does call people ‘babe’ too, forgot about that… grrrr. Thanks for reading, Michelle!

      Reply
  • 3. symbolandsubstance  |  July 21, 2011 at 9:06 am

    hi Bryn! Cute post. I nominated you for “My 7 Links” to share your best posts – it’s something one of my friends nominated me for. I’m not sure if you’re on Twitter but it’s a good way to share what’s great about your blog. You can see my post here, I linked to a couple of other posts too.
    http://wifandhub.com/2011/07/20/my-7-links/
    Let me know if you’re on Twitter, I’d love to follow you.

    Reply
    • 4. Bryn Peters  |  July 21, 2011 at 9:41 am

      Thanks so much for nominating me! It looks like fun, and it’ll be nice to go through old posts to find one that fits each category. I’m also going to have to check out your old posts! I am on twitter and am commenting using my twitter account (@brynpeters).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 800 other followers

Recent Posts

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Tweet Me!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives


