Summer Love (Circa 2003)

June 27, 2011 at 8:28 pm 13 comments

I have talked a lot about our kids on here, but I haven’t formally introduced my husband. Here’s my side of our story:

I was a freshman in college, living away from home for the first time ever. I was pumped to have the freedom to make my own decisions. Parties, friends, and classes took up most of the room in my mind. During the week, I studied hard and visited with friends, and on weekends we’d go out to parties and have a grand ol’ time. It was like all my teenage dreams of the perfect college experience had come true.

Except for one thing. I wasn’t happy.

For months, I couldn’t figure out what was wrong with me. Everyone else seemed to be carefree while I lay in bed every night, missing my family, missing home. I called my mom almost every day, so homesick. I was surrounded by people all day long, but I felt so alone.

Photo courtesy of Amazon.com

The second semester of my freshman year, my mom gave me the book When God Writes Your Love Story by Eric and Leslie Ludy, a married Christian couple. I rolled my eyes, “Thanks Mom.” Didn’t she know I wasn’t even looking for a boyfriend?

I was curious, and I do love to read, so I opened it up one day. I couldn’t put it down. I was mesmerized by the things it said about true love, and how God really cares about my love life. I shouldn’t be dating around, so I stopped.

I decided I wasn’t going to have a boyfriend until I found the man God created for me to marry. I started a journal, writing letters to “My Future Husband”. I made a list in my head with the qualities a perfect husband would have. I prayed all the time, and I felt close to God again. I was finally relying on Him to reveal my future husband.

When I moved back home for the summer, I was sort of bummed out, knowing I would miss my college friends. I started hanging out with some people I had met in high school who were living in our hometown. Among these friends was Ty. We formed a really tight-knit group that summer. Ty has his own apartment (a true luxury at 19) and a full-time job. The group of us would get together at his apartment almost every night. On weekends we’d all go camping, go to McDonald’s, or just hang out on Ty’s front porch and talk. We went to Mass together, and Ty held my hand during the Our Father.

It was gearing up to be a great summer. I had good friends, I didn’t need a boyfriend, and I didn’t want some meaningless summer fling because I was going back to school in the fall.

One night near the end of May, Ty and I kissed. Oops.

Okay, back on track. I convinced myself that this couldn’t be “it”. He couldn’t be the one I was waiting for… not this soon. We were only 19 for heaven’s sake. For a good month and a half, we totally liked each other, but I refused to date him. We had several serious conversations about relationships and what we both wanted out of life. Ty spent most of his free time with me, trying to get me to be his girlfriend, and I told him “no” several times. I told him about my list and that I was waiting for God to reveal my husband to me, that I wasn’t just going to date around. He trusted in God too, and that’s why he never gave up on me, even when I was being crazy-stubborn.

But by the fourth of July weekend, I was without a doubt, certain that God was leading me to Ty. There were too many weird coincidences for them to really just be coincidences. God was telling me something. I started to realize that everything on my list was right there in front of me, in Ty. When I was with him, I was home again.
(Cue cartoon hearts coming out of my head)

Ty and me - the last night before I went back to college, Summer 2003

A little after midnight on July 4th, 2003, I told Ty I loved him. He said he loved me.
We both knew right then that we’d be married someday.

I lasted one semester at my out-of-town college before transferring to a college back home to be closer to Ty. We were engaged in 2004 and married in 2005, at the mature age of 21.

Six years later, we’re still so in love because we made the decision to love each other, when we’re feeling all “in love” and when we’re not.

It sounds cliché, but God truly does have a plan for all of us. He knows us better than we know ourselves. He knows what decisions we are going to make, and if we’re meant to be married, God created someone for each of us. Today, I pray for our children’s future spouses – that they are loved and well-cared for, that they are having happy childhoods and learning from all their experiences.

Yes, we were young. But I’ve always said, when you know, you know. And God knows, so if we go where He’s guiding us, He’ll bring us true happiness. Just look at us.

Entry filed under: My Lover Boy, Our Crazy Life. Tags: , , , , , , .

Man vs. Man – Funny Friday Things No One Tells New Mothers

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. saramary91  |  June 27, 2011 at 8:47 pm

    Bryn, this is such a sweet story. As you know i’m going through a hard time right now (with the break up and all) and this gave me a new/better perspective on things. I just need to trust in the Lord to get me through this and to lead me in the right direction. You couldn’t timed this any better. I love you and Thank you!

    Reply
    • 2. Bryn  |  June 28, 2011 at 11:25 pm

      Sara – hope you know I’ve been thinking about you a lot! Things really do happen for a reason. Trust in Him. And read that book! Call or message me if you need anything!

      Reply
  • 3. Sharon  |  June 28, 2011 at 9:10 am

    Funny that you would be talking about this! I have been thinking about marriage and how I’ve influenced my kids towards it ever since I read this article this morning. Thanks for sharing!!

    http://www.ncregister.com/blog/should-catholics-marry-young/

    Reply
    • 4. Bryn  |  June 28, 2011 at 11:21 pm

      You are a great mother, Sharon. Your children are blessed to have you. You already know this, I’m sure, but it’s just the little things that count!

      Reply
  • 5. Ashleigh  |  June 28, 2011 at 1:36 pm

    🙂 I should have known. That book is the book that lead me out of my relationship with Bobby straight into a (way too soon in my eyes and Christopher’s eyes) deep friendship with a guy who was just getting out of a relationship (the exact same length as Bobby and I) that ended up dating me after a year and marrying me 4 years later 😉 God is Good…and I too am so glad I trusted in a love that I decide to posess everyday rather than a feeling that felt good one day. I love you!

    Reply
    • 6. Bryn  |  June 28, 2011 at 11:19 pm

      Loved that book! I don’t know that I would have ended up with Tyler without it. God sure loves us!

      Reply
  • 7. My 7 Links « Simply Fulfilled  |  August 4, 2011 at 10:10 am

    […] Summer Love (Circa 2003) […]

    Reply
  • 8. BB  |  August 5, 2011 at 8:44 pm

    This book did it for me too! Along with good ol’ Dr. Laura! Thanks for sharing your gushy love story:) It reminds me of how good God is! Mission Accomplished.

    Reply
    • 9. Bryn  |  August 8, 2011 at 8:37 pm

      I’m just so in love…

      Reply
  • 10. I Love My Husband More than the Kids  |  December 18, 2011 at 11:32 pm

    […] It definitely is a different type of love. When each of our children were born, we had the “love explosion,” the instant attachment knowing that this tiny person is a part of you, a decision made by the two of you to become parents. But my husband and I took our time falling in love. We had to get to know each other – click here to read our story. […]

    Reply
  • 11. Lisa Maria  |  December 24, 2011 at 4:15 am

    Hello Bryn

    I came by to read this after reading your post on loving your husband more than the kids. What a lovely story… I’ve passed it on to my own college daughter who turns 21 next April. She reminds me a bit of you when you say that you weren’t looking for a boyfriend.. she’s a bit cynical about relationships and doesn’t like too much mushy stuff. I’m going to be looking into that book for her. Thanks so much for sharing this.

    God bless

    Reply
    • 12. Bryn  |  December 31, 2011 at 9:46 am

      Thank you so much for reading, Lisa. God definitely had a plan for me and He has one for your daughter if she can let Him work in her life. I’ll be praying for you and her.

      Reply
  • 13. 2011 Year in Review: Top Posts « Simply Fulfilled  |  December 31, 2011 at 10:16 am

    […] Summer Love (Circa 2003) This is the story of how Tyler and I met and fell in love. It’ll either make you sigh contentedly or just roll your eyes. Either way, it was the winner this year. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 800 other followers

Recent Posts

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Tweet Me!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives


