It’s all about R-E-S-P-E-C-T

June 9, 2011 at 9:26 am 5 comments

The part of parenting that I know is necessary, but that I definitely don’t enjoy, is discipline. Some days I feel like the majority of my interactions with my kids involve breaking up fights and telling them to “knock it off” or “go stand in the corner” (our version of time-out).

Most days, though, my kids play well together and we all have a lot of fun. I really don’t have a lot to complain about when it comes to my kids’ behavior.

Lately I’ve been trying something new. When I’m talking about my kids to other adults and I know they’re listening, I’m always very complimentary about certain skills.

"Go stand in the corner!"

Like I’ll say, “TT is really great at helping me with his sisters. He’s getting to be such a big boy.”

Or “Peach always listens to me. She’s a good listener.” Then later on, TT will ask if he’s a good listener too. And I get to say, “Yes, of course you’re a good listener too. I love it when you listen.”

It’s like a self-fulfilling prophecy. The more I talk about them having good behavior, the more I see it in action. Try it out, and let me know if it works.

We talk a lot about respect in our house. Respect for all adults, for each other, for God, even for their toys (I don’t want them turning into Sid from Toy Story). Every time I treat them respect, look them in the eye and talk to them, I see it coming out of them as well. I must be an example of respect and patience for my children.

Do you have any other tips on getting kids to be respectful?

Entry filed under: Kids. Tags: , , , , .

You’re Gonna Miss This My day so far…

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. symbolandsubstance  |  June 9, 2011 at 10:47 am

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment! I love this post. My son is only 10 weeks, but we try to encourage him when he’s doing good things, like tummy time, which is hard. I’m hoping if I get in the habit, then I can keep doing it when he understands what I’m saying. 😉

    Reply
    • 2. Bryn  |  June 9, 2011 at 12:37 pm

      Tummy time was so hard for my son too. That’s so great that you encourage him already – seems like they really do pick up on the good vibes. Congrats on your little one! Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply
  • 3. Katie Holbrook  |  June 9, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    As a mommy to a four month old, I haven’t had the need to teach her respectfulness yet. However, part of my daily job as a teacher at Baldwin is to teach my kids how to show respect. Our motto at Baldwin is, “At Baldwin School we show respect for ourselves, our area, and the rights of others.” We have clearly posted expectations and we teach lessons on how to show respect. It is not enough to just expect them to be respectful, simply because some of them do not know how to show respect properly. It is an explicitly taught skill. I know that when Leah is old enough, we will have the same conversations at home that I have with my kids at school and I will also be that role model for her.

    Reply
    • 4. Bryn  |  June 9, 2011 at 1:42 pm

      Way to hit the nail on the head Katie. You are exactly right about teaching HOW to show respect. Thanks.

      Reply
  • 5. Tara  |  June 9, 2011 at 3:08 pm

    That’s why I love my children having each other. We use each other as examples when talking about respect. Liza is a great tool because we always respect her health and space by not touching her face or laying on her, etc. We also have certain toys that are “taboo” and are not for play with our other siblings. My kids have had to share from the very beginning and usually they are pretty good about it – but there are certain things that we don’t make them share (that they have to keep in their room) which also teaches them to respect each other and the “things” that are important to each of them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 800 other followers

Recent Posts

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Tweet Me!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Archives


